Atlas - Journal Entry 5/30/22

This is some sort of writing, I guess. I wanted to write about how I should be more open and emotionally intimate with other people and how that relates to the myth of Atlas. Near the end of it it starts lacking cohesion because I just wanted to write down what I was thinking.


The weight of the world, a heaving mass. It's strapped to my back like Atlas. Only a matter of time before my back breaks, already the vertebrae starts to snap. Did the gods create humans so each one would carry a world? Why do we have neighbors? So we can listen to our backs break in a chorus of cracks? No, the truth must be revealed through broken muscle and torn skin. Communion makes our loads a little lighter. Bearable is a life where there is camraderie. Let us be crouched under one world, where relief finally rules.